Ian Murray AM new Australian Logistics Council Chairman

ALC ChairmanAt ALC’s Board Meeting on 1 March 2016, Mr Ian Murray AM replaced former ALC Chairman Don Telford, who steps down from the position after nearly six years in the role.

Since becoming Chairman of ALC in 2010, Don spearheaded a number of significant changes at ALC. He presided over significant membership growth, expanded and sharpened ALC’s policy focus and strengthened links between industry and government. His lasting contribution to ALC and the logistics industry will be his commitment to ensuring we have the best possible talent working in our sector, which ALC is progressing through the establishment of the ALC People Committee and hosting of the inaugural ALC Diversity and Inclusion Summit in 2015. Don leaves ALC with our best wishes and thanks.

Mr Ian Murray AM is ALC’s new Chairman. He has a long association with ALC, having been made an Honorary Fellow in 2012. He has also served as Deputy Chair since 2006, as Treasurer, and on the ALC Finance and Membership Committee. He comes into the role with an unparalleled knowledge of the critical link between the logistics industry and Australian businesses and consumers, having served as Chief Executive Officer of the Export Council of Australia for 15 years.

Under Ian’s leadership, ALC looks forward to strengthening its position as the leader on the national debate on critical issues affecting Australia’s logistics industry, particularly in this critical election year.

Further information about ALC’s Board, policy agenda and advocacy focus is contained in the ALC 2015-2016 Annual Report.