Finalists Announced for the 2018 ASCL Awards


Finalists Announced for the
2018 Australian Supply Chain & Logistics Awards


The Supply Chain & Logistics Association of Australia, in conjunction with Australian Trusted Trader, today officially announced the finalists for the longest running and most prestigious awards program in the industry. Having served the industry for 58 years, the ASCL Awards are the most recognised and prestigious awards for an individual or a company to receive.

Winners of the Australian Supply Chain & Logistics Awards will be announced on at the ASCL Award Gala Dinner to be held on Friday, 23 November 2018 in the Grand Ballroom, Luna Park, Sydney. Click here to register to attend the ASCL Awards Gala Dinner.


Industry Excellence Award

This Award recognises and acknowledges outstanding achievements and contribution by an individual currently engaged across the supply chain industry. Persons nominated for this most prestigious award will be leaders and will have made significant change to the way a supply chain is managed and improved either academically, physically or technologically. Originally awarded in 1987 and dedicated to Mike Munns, FAIMM, this award remains a cornerstone of SCLAA’s commitment to recognising and promoting the importance of the supply chain industry and its people to continuously improving organisational strength and growth.

2018 Industry Excellence Award Finalists are:

  • Joshua Carter – Carter Heavy Haulage and Transport Pty Ltd
  • Matthew Wragg – MAEZ
  • Neriman Kara – Telstra Corporation
  • Rob O’Byrne – Logistics Bureau Group
  • Stephen Rowlison – BBILLER Pty Ltd


Future Leaders Award

The purpose of this award is to provide incentive and recognition to young supply chain professionals who are both currently working in and wish to continue their career path. Nominees for this award should be able to demonstrate their passion and commitment to taking the supply chain toward tomorrow. The SCLAA wishes to showcase finalists and provide impetus to continue to attract the brightest to the industry. First awarded in 2009 and dedicated to Vince Aisthorpe.

2018 Future Leader Award Finalists are:

  • Cameron Davies – Young Guns Container Crew
  • Corey Carl – Young Guns Container Crew
  • Jake Parrett – Carter Heavy Haulage and Transport Pty Ltd
  • Kathryn Elser 
  • Krystian Ostrowski
  • Kyle Rogers – Silk Contract Logistics


Supply Chain Management Award

Supply Chain Management (SCM) is the oversight of materials, information, and finances as they move in a process from supplier to manufacturer to wholesaler to retailer to consumer. This award recognises an organisation that can demonstrate significant achievement within a section or across their entire supply chain. Nominees should be able to clearly state the design and achieved results of the project or process that was envisaged and then implemented. The trophy was first awarded in 1984 and is dedicated to Doug Beattie.

2018 Supply Chain Management Award Finalists are:

  • Australian Red Cross Blood Service
  • Fremantle Ports
  • Hemandra Maharaj & Snackbrands/Ontex/Cahill Transport/C.H. Robinson 
  • Kathmandu
  • Renault Nissan Mitsubishi Alliance
  • Toll Group


Training, Education & Development Award

Training, education and development remains a vital part of allowing knowledge to be utilised for new ideas and supply chain improvements to be discovered and then implemented This award will be presented to a company that can best demonstrate their committeemen, application and results of providing training, education and development of their people. The trophy was first awarded in 2002 and is dedicated to the late Professor Peter Gilmour.

2018 Training, Education & Development Finalists are:

  • Associate Professor Ferry Jie, PhD, School of Business and Law, Edith Cowan University
  • TT Logistics (Australasia) Pty Ltd
  • Wesfarmers Chemicals Energy & Fertilisers
  • Young Guns Container Crew


Information Technology and Management Award

Information remains the most important requirement of any supply chain. Information technology is where the majority of supply chain improvements have been made. Nominees for this award will demonstrate where their use of existing or new technology has provided significant improvements to their management of information and/or their supply chain processes. The trophy was first awarded in 1994 and is dedicated to the late Len Smith FAIMM.

2018 Information Technology and Management Award Finalists are:

  • BlockBit Solutions
  • Fremantle Ports
  • FullCRM
  • PTV Group
  • Santos Ltd
  • Shippit


Environmental Excellence Award

The ASCL Environmental Excellence Award recognises corporate leadership contributing to the solution of environmental sustainability within our industry through performance and action. The trophy was first awarded in 1966 and is dedicated to Mr Ken Pike.

2018 Environmental Excellence Award Finalists are:

  • Dennis Ogden, National Mailing and Marketing Pty Ltd
  • Paul Miller, Bridgeport Energy
  • PGT-Reclaimed
  • Rotary- Donations in Kind Queensland & Northern Rivers


International Supply Chain Award

Recognising that Supply Chains know no boundaries, the ASCL International Supply Chain Award is given to a Company, Association or an Individual that may operate internationally and are able demonstrate their capability, commitment and achievements across any spectrum of the sciences, practices, disciplines or efforts to promote and improve the knowledge and acceptance of the importance of the supply chain.

2018 International Supply Chain Award Finalists are:

  • Ashley Allchurch – Health and HIV Implementation Service Delivery Provider
  • Localz
  • Coca-Cola Bottlers Japan and XAct Solutions Shinsei Project
  • Rodney Bartolo and Glen Dyer, Mercedes Benz Vans
  • Sebastian Keith Chua, Health Promotion Board, Singapore


Logistics Management Award

This is a new award and for one of the longest standing disciplines of any supply chain and replaces the Storage and Materials Handling award. The recipient of this Award may stem from the 2018 Award finalists or may be an individual who the Judging Panel feels has demonstrated achievement, improvement or results have required a logistical approach to improvement or major change to their logistics management.

The winner of this Award will be announced on the night.

To reserve your seat or a table for you and your colleagues at the 2018 ASCL Awards Gala Dinner, visit the Gala Dinner page on the SCLAA Calendar of Events on the website.

For any queries, please contact the SCLAA National Secretariat on or 1300 364 160