ASCL Award Winners Announced





A group of 2016 winners and finalists.


The Supply Chain & Logistics Association of Australia, in conjunction with RAMCO, Dematic, Xtreme Freight, LMA, National Manufacturing Week and Adaptalift, announced the winners of the 2016 Australian Supply Chain & Logistics Awards on 23 November at Luna Park, Sydney.

Held annually for the last 56 years by the Supply Chain and Logistics Association of Australia (SCLAA), these awards allow a fantastic opportunity for people and companies that are involved in the supply chain industry to celebrate and be recognised for their particular contribution, success and hard work.

There are seven categories in these awards and each attracted a record number of high calibre nominations. Awards were formally judged with recipients announced on the night. The winners and high commendation receivers were:


behnam-fahimnia-cropped2016 Training, Education & Development Award

Training, education and development remains a vital part of allowing knowledge to be utilised for new ideas and supply chain improvements to be discovered and then implemented This award will be presented to a company that can best demonstrate their committeemen, application and results of providing training, education and development of their people. The trophy was first awarded in 2002 and is dedicated to the late Professor Peter Gilmour.

The winner of the 2016 Training, Education and Development Award is Prof Behnam Fahimnia, University of Sydney.

A High Commendation was awarded to Mike Steele – National Mailing & Marketing

Finalists were: All Purpose Transport, National Mailing and Marketing, University of Sydney and Young Guns Container Crew


2016 Information Technology and Management Award

Information remains the most important requirement of any supply chain. Information technology is where the majority of supply chain improvements has been made. Nominees for this award will demonstrate where their use of existing or new technology has provided significant improvements to their management of information and/or their supply chain processes. The trophy was first awarded in 1994 and is dedicated to the late Len Smith FAIMM.

The joint winners of the 2016 Information Technology and Management Award are:   eStore Logistics    and    Cloud Logistics Solutions


Finalists were: Australian Red Cross Blood Service – Vision Systems,  Australian Red Cross Blood Service – Bulk Shipper (Blood), Australian Red Cross Blood Service – RFID, Cloud Logistics Solutions Pty Ltd, Department of Transport & Main Roads (QLD), eStore Logistics,  Department of Housing and Public Works (QLD) and SVS Australia


2016 Industry Excellence Award

Recognises and acknowledges outstanding achievements and contribution by an individual currently engaged across the supply chain industry. Persons nominated for this most prestigious award will be leaders and will have made significant change to the way a supply chain is managed and improved either academically, physically or technologically.

dr-john-gattorna-cropped1Originally awarded in 1987 and dedicated to Mike Munns, FAIMM, this award remains a cornerstone of SCLAA’s commitment to recognising and promoting the importance of the supply chain industry and its people to continuously improving organisational strength and growth.

The winner of the 2016 Industry Excellence Award is Dr John Gattorna, Gattorna Alignment

A High Commendation was awarded to Charles Kim, Toyota

Finalists were: Nikki Barbie, Kingsley Cherry, Dr John Gattorna, Anthony Goninan, Charles Kim and Melissa Taylor


2016 International Supply Chain Award

charles-kim-1-croppedThis is a new Award and one that recognises Supply Chains know no boundaries. The ASCL International Supply Chain Award is given to a Company, Association or an Individual that may  operate internationally and are able demonstrate their capability, commitment and achievements across any spectrum of the sciences, practices, disciplines or efforts to promote and improve the knowledge and acceptance of the importance of the supply chain.

The winner of the 2016 International Supply Chain Award is Charles Kim, Toyota

A High Commendation was awarded to ICOS LIVE Ltd.

Finalists were: Kathmandu,  iCOS LIVE LTD and Toyota


2016 Supply Chain Management Award

Supply Chain Management (SCM) is the oversight of materials, information, and finances as they move in a process from supplier to manufacturer to wholesaler to retailer to consumer. This award recognises an organisation that can demonstrate significant achievement within a section or across their entire supply chain. Nominees should be able to clearly state the design and achieved results of the project or process that was envisaged and then implemented.

The trophy was first awarded in 1984 and is dedicated to Doug Beattie.

The winner of the 2016 Supply Chain Management Award is Kathmandu.


A High Commendation was awarded to Scuzz Trans.

Finalists were: Department of Defence / Innovasys Pty Ltd, Haymans Electrical Brisbane Airport, Kathmandu, Queensland Rail / David HR Consulting, ScuzzTrans and Toll Customised Solutions Canberra


2016 Logistics Management Award

red-cross-blood-service-1-croppedThis is a new award and is awarded for one of the oldest disciplines of any supply chain and replaces the Storage and Materials Handling award. Recipients may stem from nominees for any of the other SCLAA awards at the judges’ discretion, or from a direct application, where the demonstrated achievement, improvement or results have required a logistical approach to improvement or major change to their logistics management.

The winner of the 2016 Logistics Management Award is The Australian Red Cross Blood Service.


2016 Future Leaders Award

dillon-singh-and-dr-john-gattorna-croppedThe purpose of this award is to provide incentive and recognition to young supply chain professionals who are both currently working in and wish to continue their career path. Nominees for this award should be able to demonstrate their passion and commitment to taking the supply chain toward tomorrow. The SCLAA wishes to showcase finalists and provide impetus to continue to attract the brightest to the industry.

First awarded in 2009 and dedicated to Vince Aisthorpe.

The winner of the 2016 Future Leaders Award is Dillon Singh.

A High Commendation was awarded to Chayal Ramjee.

Finalists were: Luke Alford, Kieran Boyce, Kylie Cue, Chayal Ramjee, Dillon Singh, Nathan Sugars and Jeff Zhang