2016 ASCL Award Finalists Announced



The Supply Chain & Logistics Association of Australia, in conjunction with RAMCO, Dematic and Xtreme Freight officially announced today the finalists for the longest running and most prestigious awards program in the industry. Having served the industry for over fifty-five years, the ASCL Awards are the most recognised and esteemed awards for an individual or a company to be awarded.

Winners of the Australian Supply Chain & Logistics Awards will be announced on at the ASCL Award Gala dinner to be held on Wednesday, 23 November 2016 in the Grand Ball Room at Luna Park, Sydney. Click here to register to attend the ASCL Awards Gala Dinner.

Industry Excellence Award
Recognises and acknowledges outstanding achievements and contribution by an individual currently engaged across the supply chain industry. Persons nominated for this most prestigious award will be leaders and will have made significant change to the way a supply chain is managed and improved either academically, physically or technologically.  Originally awarded in 1987 and dedicated to Mike Munns, FAIMM, this award remains a cornerstone of SCLAA’s commitment to recognising and promoting the importance of the supply chain industry and its people to continuously improving organisational strength and growth.

Finalists are: Dr John Gattorna, Gattorna Alignment; Charles Kim, Toyota; Nikki Barbi, Ergon Energy; Melissa Taylor, Taylor’s Removals and Storage; Anthony Goninan, Department of Defence; and Kingsley Cherry, Pacifix.

Future Leaders Award
The purpose of this award is to provide incentive and recognition to young supply chain professionals who are both currently working in and wish to continue their career path. Nominees for this award should be able to demonstrate their passion and commitment to taking the supply chain toward tomorrow. The SCLAA wishes to showcase finalists and provide impetus to continue to attract the brightest to the industry. First awarded in 2009 and dedicated to Vince Aisthorpe.

The winner of the 2016 Future Leaders Award will be awarded an enrolment into the Leadership Management Australia’s ‘The Performance Edge’ 10-week development program. The program assists participants to improve their personal performance and productivity as well as that of their team. The prize includes consultation in the workplace, assistance in the development of some professional goals, all course material, attendance at 10 interactive workshops, facilitation, client support and access to LMA’s unique on-line feedback system.

Finalists are: Kieran Boyce, eStore Logistics; Nathan Sugars, Lion Dairy and Drinks; Dillon Singh, IBM; Luke Alford, Silk Logistics; Chayal Ramjee, Queensland Transport and Main Roads; Jeff Zhang, Fletcher/Tradelink; and Kylie Cue, Downer EDI.

Supply Chain Management Award
Supply chain management (SCM) is the oversight of materials, information, and finances as they move in a process from supplier to manufacturer to wholesaler to retailer to consumer. This award recognises an organisation that can demonstrate significant achievement within a section or across their entire supply chain. Nominees should be able to clearly state the design and achieved results of the project or process that was envisaged and then implemented. The trophy was first awarded in 1984 and is dedicated to Doug Beattie.

Finalists are: Kathmandu;   Andrew McSweeney, ScuzzTrans;   David Munro, Queensland Rail/David HR Consulting; Timothy Joseph, Department of Defence/Inovasys; Tony Nichols, Toll; and Haymans Electrical Brisbane Airport.

Training, Education & Development Award
Training, education and development remains a vital part of allowing knowledge to be utilised for new ideas and supply chain  improvements to be discovered and then implemented This award will be presented to a company that can best demonstrate their committeemen, application and results of providing training, education and development of their people.. The trophy was first awarded in 2002 and is dedicated to the late Professor Peter Gilmour.

Finalists are: Mike Steele, National Mailing & Marketing; Belinda Polglase, All Purpose Transport; Matt Clark, Young Guns Container Crew;and Prof Behnam Fahimnia, University of Sydney.

Information Management Award
Information remains the most important requirement of any supply chain. Information technology is where the majority of supply chain improvements have been made. Nominees for this award will demonstrate where their use of existing or new technology has provided significant improvements to their management of information and/or their supply chain processes. The trophy was first awarded in 1994 and is dedicated to the late Len Smith FAIMM.

Finalists are: Leigh Williams, eStore Logistics;   Dawn Burdett, Cloud Logistics Solutions; Warwick Mendham, SVS Australia; Nigel Edwards, Australian Red Cross Vision Systems; Nigel Edwards, Australian Red Cross Bulk Shipper (Blood); Nigel Edwards, Australian Red Cross RFID; Deanne Hawkswood, Department of Transport & Main Roads; and David Horton, Department of Housing and Public Works.

Logistics Management Award
This is a new award and for one of the longest standing disciplines of any supply chain and replaces the Storage and Materials Handling award. Recipients may stem from nominees for any of the other SCLAA awards at the judges’ discretion, or from a direct application, where the demonstrated achievement, improvement or results have required a logistical approach to improvement or major change to their logistics management.

The winner will of this Award will be announced on the night.

International Supply Chain Award
Recognising that Supply Chains know no boundaries, the ASCLA International Supply Chain Award is given to a Company, Association or an Individual that may operate internationally and are able demonstrate their capability, commitment and achievements across any spectrum of the sciences, practices, disciplines or efforts to promote and improve the knowledge and acceptance of the importance of the supply chain.

Finalists are: ICOS LIVE, Kathy Ross; Toyota/Siecap, Charles Kim; and Kathmandu

To register to attend the 2016 Australian Supply Chain & Logistics Awards visit the
2016 ASCL Awards Gala Dinner page on the SCLAA website.

For any queries, please contact the SCLAA National Secretariat on secretary@sclaa.com.au or 1300 364 160.